Page updated 23.9.2016

The first invited TUAS Fellows introduced

On Thursday 8 September TUAS’ new academic year 2016–2017 was opened. At the opening event, the new TUAS Fellow expert system was launched, the different activities within TUAS were introduced to the guests and distinguished members of the TUAS community were awarded. This year the theme of the opening ceremony was entrepreneurship.

The event was opened by Rector and President Vesa Taatila.

“As an inspiring community, we have proceeded at speed in the direction defined by our Excellence in Action strategic plan: the use of our educational approach Innopeda keeps on increasing, the technological innovation university has started to take shape and well-being is developing extensively. It’s a pleasure to do meaningful work with this crowd”, Rector Taatila said in his opening speech.

Chairman of the Board of Student Union TUO Tuomas Kiviranta brought students’ greetings for the new academic year.

“The most important asset and source of development of our UAS is the community formed by all of us. In its activities, it constantly takes leaps forward and at the same time, boldly explores new opportunities for Turku University of Applied Sciences", said Kiviranta.

In his speech, Chairman of the Board of TUAS Niko Aaltonen emphasized the importance of the Kupittaa region as an inspiring and developing environment, which creates encounters between the HEI and enterprises.

Entrepreneurial Innovator award given to Cooperative Droppi

Read more

At the event the book “Ammattikorkeakoulu yritysten palveluksessa” (“Universities of Applied Sciences at the service of companies") was published and the Federation of Finnish Enterprises in Southwest Finland awarded the Entrepreneurial Innovator of the year. The award was given to Cooperative Droppi, which is composed of 12 young students or team entrepreneurs at TUAS’ BusinessAcademy. 

“At Turku University of Applied Sciences, entrepreneurship and an entrepreneurial attitude have been strongly included in the teaching", praised Managing Director Hanna Munter from the Federation of Finnish Enterprises in Southwest Finland.

“Cooperative Droppi is an excellent example of how this work produces results. The Federation of Finnish Enterprises in Southwest Finland wants to encourage continuing the work with the yearly award. Turku University of Applied Sciences is an important partner of the Federation of Finnish Enterprises in Southwest Finland”, Munter said.

The first TUAS Fellows were nominated

Read more

At the event, TUAS’ new expert system TUAS Fellows was introduced. The system is a first of its kind at Finnish universities of applied sciences, and the invited TUAS Fellow experts will be members for the next five years.

TUAS Fellows:

Associate Dean Carola Boehm, Artist Jan-Erik Andersson, Editor-in-Chief Riitta Monto, Managing Director Maija Palonheimo, Research Team Leader, PhD Margaret Nelson, Principal Lecturer and Entrepreneur Ander Ferran, Professor Gilbert Silvius, former Managing Director and Emeritus Henri Wibom, Organizational Specialist Päivi Ovaskainen, Chief Nursing Officer Päivi Nygren, Member of Parliament Eeva-Johanna Eloranta, Professor Joca Zurc and Member of Parliament Ilkka Kanerva.

At the event the guests also got to know TUAS students: BusinessAcademy and cooperatives Droppi and Tekym introduced their activities at the event.

The guests also got to have their say on the planning of the new campus, to be opened in 2019, and got more information on the shared sports services of the Turku-based higher education institutions.

More awards – the awarded members of the TUAS community in 2016 are:

Read more
  • Student of the year: Lotta Lybeck (Journalism)
  • Into award, students: Petra Sundell (Media Arts)
  • Into award, staff: Miia Nokka (Student services)
  • Tarmo award: NTUTAS14 (student group in Industrial Management and Engineering)
  • Alumni of the Year: Mikko Hietala, Bachelor of Engineering, Leipomo MBakery

The Teacher of the Year award was given to an especially inspiring teacher who has made the studies enjoyable. The three teachers who received this encouraging award from students were:

  • Lecturer Anja Kuukasjärvi (Social Services), Lecturer Anu Ojaranta (Library and Information Services) and Lecturer Pirjo Oksanen (Construction, Environment and Energy).